National Academy of Sciences of Belarus

Department of Chemistry and Earth Sciences

Leadership and apparatus of department

Academic Secretary

  (017) 284-03-71

Deputy Academic Secretary
Doctor of Geologo-Mineralogical Sciences Vladimir Georgievich LEVASHKEVICH
  (017) 284-18-20

Scientific Secretary
Candidate of Chemical Sciences Ekaterina Frantsevna OSTROVSKAYA
  (017) 284-18-24

Nezavisimosti ave., 66, 220072, Minsk, Republic of Belarus
Email address:
Fax: (017) 284-03-71

The Department of Chemistry and Earth Sciences (in 1963–2003 – the Department of Chemical Sciences, the Department of Chemical and Geological Sciences, the Department of Chemical Sciences and Earth Sciences) was established in 1963, it performs and coordinates the research complex on priority scientific and scientific-technical directions in various fields of chemical and earth sciences.

The Department has the following main activities:

  • organic synthesis of functionally substituted heterocyclic, aromatic and aliphatic compounds;
  • physical chemistry of ion exchange and extraction processes;
  • chemistry and physical chemistry of special purpose polymers;
  • investigation of surface phenomena in disperse systems;
  • study of the structure and functions of the most important biopolymers and low molecular weight bioregulators;
  • development, creation and pilot production of immunochemical and molecular biological reagent kits for medical and veterinary diagnostics;
  • development and production of pharmaceutical substances and finished medicinal forms;
  • creation of new chemically active systems and devices for technological and environmental needs (preparation and purification of water, air, corrosion protection, etc.);
  • creation of means of protection and stimulation of plant growth;
  • complex processing of chlorine-containing salts and their waste;
  • development of scientific foundations of nature management, environmental protection, forecasting and optimization of anthropogenic impacts on natural systems, regional geology, integrated use of mineral resources, technology for processing solid fuels (peat, sapropel, coal, oil shale).

The department includes: a state research and production association, 5 state scientific institutions, 2 state institutions, a republican production unitary enterprise, and a unitary enterprise.

There are 16 academicians and 17 corresponding members in the department, in the organizations assigned to the department there are at least 1000 people, including more than 500 researchers, 43 doctors and 177 candidates of science.

Affiliated organizations

No organizations...