National Academy of Sciences of Belarus

POKROVSKY Valentin Ivanovich

Valentin Ivanovich Pokrovsky (b. 01.04.1929, Ivanovo, Russia) - infectiologist and epidemiologist. Foreign Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (2000). Academician of the Academy of Medical Sciences of the USSR (1982; Corresponding Member since 1971), Russian Academy of Medical Sciences (1991–2013), Russian Academy of Sciences (2013), Doctor of Medical Sciences (1966), Professor (1967). Honorary Member of the Russian Academy of Education (2004).

The main direction of scientific research is the development of principles for the treatment of infectious patients and problems of epidemiology. Investigated the basics of rational use of antibiotics, emergency treatment. He substantiated and introduced in the clinic of infectious diseases methods of intensive care and resuscitation. Contributed to the fight against epidemics of infectious diseases (plague, cholera, meningococcal infection) in various regions of Russia and foreign countries. Under his leadership, launched a fundamental and applied research on AIDS.

Author of more than 700 scientific papers, including 30 monographs, textbooks, more than 20 inventions.

State Prize of the Russian Federation (1997) for a series of works on the etiological diagnosis, clinic and etiotropic therapy of previously unknown infectious diseases (mycoplasma-pneumonia infection, legionellosis, pneumocystosis, rotavirus infection). Prizes of the Government of the Russian Federation: for developing methods for treating cholera and other acute intestinal infections (1996), for developing the Imunofan peptide drug and its practical use in pathogenetic therapy (1999), for creating a set of interdisciplinary textbooks “Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology” (2009).

Awarded with the Order of the Red Banner of Labor (1971), Lenin (1986), "For Services to the Fatherland" of the II (1999) and III (1994) degrees, medals.

Major papers:

  1. Микоплазма пневмонии – инфекция. М., 1978 (в соавт.).
  2. Приобретенный иммунитет и инфекционный процесс. М., 1979 (в соавт.).
  3. СПИД: синдром приобретенного иммунодефицита. М., 1988 (в соавт.).
  4. Стрептококки и стрептококкозы. М., 2006 (в соавт.).

Национальная академия наук Беларуси

ПОКРОВСКИЙ Валентин Иванович

Валентин Иванович Покровский (р. 01.04.1929, г. Иваново, Россия) – инфекционист и эпидемиолог. Иностранный член НАН Беларуси (2000). Академик Академии медицинских наук СССР (1982; чл.-корр. с 1971), Российской академии медицинских наук (1991– 2013), Российской АН (2013), доктор медицинских наук (1966), профессор (1967). Почетный член Российской академии образования (2004).

Основное направление научных исследований – разработка принципов терапии инфекционных больных и проблем эпидемиологии. Исследовал основы рационального применения антибиотиков, средств неотложной терапии. Обосновал и внедрил в клинику инфекционных болезней методы интенсивной терапии и реанимации. Внес вклад в борьбу с эпидемиями инфекционных болезней (чума, холера, менингококковая инфекция) в различных районах России и зарубежных стран. Под его руководством развернуты фундаментальные и прикладные исследования по проблемам СПИДа.

Автор более 700 научных трудов, в том числе 30 монографий, учебников, более 20 изобретений.

Государственная премия Российской Федерации (1997) за цикл работ по этиологической диагностике, клинике и этиотропной терапии неизвестных ранее инфекционных заболеваний (микоплазма-пневмония инфекция, легионеллез, пневмоцистоз, ротавирусная инфекция). Премии Правительства Российской Федерации: за разработку методов лечения холеры и других острых кишечных инфекций (1996), за разработку пептидного препарата «Имунофан» и его практическое применение в патогенетической терапии (1999), за создание комплекта междисциплинарных учебников «Инфекционные болезни и эпидемиология» (2009).

Награжден орденами Трудового Красного Знамени (1971), Ленина (1986), «За заслуги перед Отечеством» II (1999) и III (1994) степеней, медалями.

Основные труды:

  1. Микоплазма пневмонии – инфекция. М., 1978 (в соавт.).
  2. Приобретенный иммунитет и инфекционный процесс. М., 1979 (в соавт.).
  3. СПИД: синдром приобретенного иммунодефицита. М., 1988 (в соавт.).
  4. Стрептококки и стрептококкозы. М., 2006 (в соавт.).