National Academy of Sciences of Belarus


Anton Zeilinger (b. 20.05.1945, Reed (Inkrais), Austria) - physicist. Foreign member of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (2014). Full member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (1998), European Academy (2011). Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (2000), Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (2002), German Academy of Sciences "Leopoldina" (2005), World Academy of Sciences (2014). Foreign member of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts (2006), Academy of Sciences of France (2009), National Academy of Sciences of the USA (2014), Russian Academy of Sciences (2016). Honorary Member of the Slovak Academy of Sciences (2005). Member of the American Physical Society (1999), American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012). Doctor Habilitated (1979). Honorary Doctor of Berlin University named after Humboldt (2005, Germany), Gdansk University (2006, Poland), National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (2014). Professor Emeritus of the Scientific and Technical University of China (1996).

Scientific works in the field of entangled (quantum-correlated) states and quantum-information technologies based on them. Under his leadership such pioneering work on quantum informatics was performed, such as quantum teleportation of individual photon states, quantum dense information coding, transfer of entangled states of optical fields, implementation of quantum cryptography based on entangled photons, encoding of quantum information into orbital angular momentum of photons. One of the two possible classes of the entangled state of three particles is called the Greenberger–Horn–Zeilinger state after the authors of the theoretical prediction.

Author of more than 500 scientific papers, including 7 monographs.

Theodor Kerner Foundation Prize (1980, Austria). Scholar of the year of Austria (1996). Award for contribution to science (2000, Austria). Award "Seer of the Year in Science" (2001, Austria). Johann Kepler Prize (2002, Austria). Prize “Prix Vinci d’Excellence” of the LVMH Foundation (1995, France). Prizes of the European Physical Society (1996, 2007). European Optical Society Prize (1997). Prize of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences (2003, Germany). Paul Klopsteg Prize of the American Physics Teachers' Association (2004). European Commission Descartes Award (2005). King Faisal Award (2005, Saudi Arabia). Award in the field of quantum communications of the University of Tamagawa (2008, Japan). Wolf Prize in Physics (2010, Israel).

Awarded with the Order of Merit in Science and Art (2001, Germany), the Cross of Merit with the star of the Order of Merit for the Federal Republic of Germany (2009), the Order of Großer Tiroler Adler of the federal province of Tirol (2013, Austria), an honorary badge for contribution to science and art (2001, Austria), an honorary gold badge of Vienna (2006, Austria), an honorary gold badge “For merits to the Republic of Austria” (2015), Wilhelm Exner medals of the Austrian Business Association (2005), Isaac Newton, British Institute of Physics (2008), Lorenz Oken a Society of German scientists and physicists (2004), scientific society "Urania" (2013, Germany).

Major papers:

  1. Experimental quantum teleportation // Nature. 1997. Vol. 390, N 6660 (в соавт.).
  2. Quantum Information: An Introduction to Basic Theoretical Concepts and Experiments. Springer, 2001 (в соавт.).
  3. Физика квантовой информации. М., 2002 (в соавт.).
  4. Einsteins Schleier: Die neue Welt der Quantenphysik. München, 2003.
  5. Einsteins Spuk: Teleportation und weitere Mysterien der Quantenphysik. München, 2005.
  6. Dance of the Photons: From Einstein to Quantum Teleportation. N. Y., 2010.